by mistake vegan

I spend most of my time with vegetarians, so I try not to get offended when people think I’m part of that club. However, if you know me well, you know that there are few things on earth that I love more than a perfectly cooked slice of bacon or a classic Chicago Style Hotdog ( I like Hot Doug’s as much as the next person, but all I really need/want is a Vienna Beef Dog, poppyseed bun, onions, relish (bright green), sport peppers, tomato, and celery salt)

Seeing as meat has been getting a bad rap in the news lately, and considering that I can rarely afford locally sourced/ humanely farmed meat (this doesn’t apply to hot dogs, obvs) I tend to live (loosely) as a vegetarian. I even enjoy the Chicago Diner once in awhile. However, I can’t, for the most part, say that I’ve ever been a huge fan of vegan food. Perhaps I spoke too soon. On Tuesday, we were famished, and made a delicious, by mistake vegan meal.

Gerard started by chopping a red onion that was nearly past its prime, luckily we saved it and put it to good use:
Photobucket

I followed suit and chopped some ginger, scallions, and garlic
Photobucket

Gerard expertly chopped the tofu:
Photobucket

Then he fried it like a pro:
Photobucket

I made the curry sauce:
Photobucket
(1 can coconut milk, ginger, scallions, curry powder, cayenne, whatever yr heart desires, simmered down to a thick consistency)

Next we sauteed the veggies with the tofu (carrots, tomatoes, onions, zucchini, some I forgot)
Photobucket

Yum
Photobucket

We boiled the buckwheat noodles (an interesting taste sensation, worth noting that it’s gluten free)
Photobucket

Then we added the curry to the veggies and tofu
Photobucket

Next, we cooked the noodles with the curried veggies and tofu
Photobucket

We put the dish into bowls:
Photobucket

At last: Curry Noodle Stir Fry
Photobucket

It was vegan, and I didn’t even mind!

Worth noting, we had a really great wine: Rock Rabbit Sauvignon Blanc it was so good!

