dark n’ stormy

A few years ago, a friend’s older sister’s friend (say that 10 times fast) introduced me to a delicious drink called the Dark n’ Stormy. I know it sounds like a romance novel from the last days of disco, but it’s actually quite good and very refreshing. Last night, the weather was dark and stormy, so I though a theme drink would be apt. I’d also confirm that I find people usually act more “Light n’ Sunny” after they’ve had a few of these almost tropical concoctions.

If you google Dark n Stormy, you’ll be told that you MUST use Gosling’s Dark Seal Rum. They are lying. It is good with any high quality dark rum. However, it’s worth noting that the powers that be are not lying about the dark rum- don’t try it with white rum or spiced rum. You will not be happy with the results. Traditionally the ingredients are 1 shot dark rum, ice, ginger beer, and lime. Ginger beer is worth having at your house all the time. It is delicious, and you can even make your own. After going to the Violet Hour, I was surprised to see them using a ginger syrup in addition to the traditional ingredients. Needless to say, it gave me a great idea.

Last fall, I decided to make my own ginger syrup. I’ve been experimenting with it since then, but I think last night I finally got it right. Here is the recipe

1 cup freshly grated ginger
1 cup sugar
1.5 cup water
2 tablespoons ground ginger

Combine ingredients, bring to a boil.
Photobucket

Let boil until the mixture reduced by 1/2. Strain into a glass container.
Photobucket

Meanwhile, you should have some freshly cut limes on hand.
Photobucket

Once the ginger syrup has cooled a bit, pour a shot of the syrup into your glass, along with the juice of 1/2 a lime
Photobucket

Next, pour a shot and a half of dark rum over your syrup/lime mixture
Photobucket

Place 4 cubes of ice into the cup, top off with ginger beer, stir and garnish with a lime
Photobucket

Delicious! I’d recommend making this on Thursday nights, especially since 30 Rock is all new.

