party time, excellent

I thought about the title of this blog entry for a long time, since I was anticipating the summertime BBQs to come. This was probably as far back as November, when the last memory of summer warmth had left my body; and that was all the way back in 2007! I also refuse to believe that this foreshadowing tells anything more about my personality than the fact that I love catchy headlines. Anyways, as you all know, this has been the most unspringlike spring ever. I remember previous springs and I think about all the Italian ice and sweaty bikerides and get really happy. This spring has been more about sweatshirts and hot soup.

However, this weekend, the deities were smiling on us and let us have a brief taste of what’s to come. It was warm enough on Saturday for Natalie and Aaron to graciously host a bbq, which I unfortunately did not take any pictures at. However, I made some Mai Tais for the party and used a lot of lime juice:
Photobucket
((imagine this x2 and you’ll get a good idea of what went into the concentrate))

For some reason I love taking pictures of fruit I have destroyed. Here are some dead and delicious limes:
Photobucket

On Sunday, Gerard and I achieved something I have often thought about, but never attained. We attended 3 BBQs in one day AND had a great time at all of them. Amanda doesn’t ususally look so perplexed, but cameras are tough:
Photobucket

There were lots of goodies at this BBQ, such as…

Fruit Salad
Photobucket

Danielle’s secret ingredient Macaroni!
Photobucket

Grilled Garlic Butter Shrimp
Photobucket

Brats and Veggie Skewers
Photobucket

Mojitos (please note the Beer and Ketchup in the background)
Photobucket

Amanda’s red shoes
Photobucket

And me… in need of a haircut… badly
Photobucket

To cap off the night we went to a magical puppet show in Gil and Joe’s backyard.
Photobucket
They told an Italo Calvino story and it was one of the best things I’ve ever seen.

One thought on “party time, excellent

Leave a Reply

