toast!

Not always considered the most interesting of foods, toast is still tasty. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, good toast can feel like a fondly remembered dream. Usually I use this blog to talk about homemade food, but once in a while it’s nice to have something simple and ready to go.

Photobucket

The bread shown above is gluten-free, believe it or not! It tastes good, like regular bread! You can eat a sandwich without having to chew your bread for 15 minutes. I am also happy to report that this bread makes excellent toast, something that is sure to come in handy when school starts back up and I no longer have time for leisurely breakfasts of yogurt and fruit. This brand of gluten-free bread is called Udi’s. It comes from Denver and is sold at larger health food grocery stores like Whole Foods (if you are in Chicago, it is also sold at Strack and Van Til). You can also buy it online directly from the company and have it shipped to you.

My hair stylist is a very strict adherent to the gluten-free lifestyle. When I’m in her chair we spend a lot of time talking about food. In the past few months, I’ve gotten very serious about adhering to a gluten-free diet. I feel better than I have felt in a long time. She was really excited for me and gave me a whole loaf of Udi’s bread to try. I’m so happy she did, I can’t wait to have some grilled cheese!

As a side note, I have lived in Chicago for about 6 years. It feels like I have gotten my hair cut at nearly every salon in the city. I have been going to Sparrow for over a year now and, in addition to giving me free bread, Susan is a phenomenal hair stylist. I only get my hair cut once every 3-4 months and she does a wonderful job. I’m so happy that I finally found a salon where I am consistently happy with the results!

One thought on “toast!

  1. This bread is fantastic! I discovered it as Whole Foods Market a little over a month ago and have been munching on breakfast sandwiches and grilled cheese all the time. It’s been almost two years since I could sincerely say I enjoyed a good piece of bread. On another note, you mentioned you usually post about homemade foods. Have you tried Pamela’s Products? It’s a great line of gluten free flour mix’s. I’ve been experimenting with baking beer breads with it the last couple weeks. Another treat I haven’t enjoyed in a couple years!

Leave a Reply

